Sign in to follow this  
JonM1911

Krav Maga

Ok, so I figured with all the talk about unarmed self defense I'd go on my Krav rant. I've been doing it for 2 years and I've tested to "level 3". There are 5 levels, then your black belt. Krav is not a martial art, its a self defense concept, for lack of a better term. It was developed by a gentleman in Israel back in the '30s IIRC. He took things from different fighting styles, strikes from Mauy Thai, boxing, BJJ, etc. He would get in fights, not purposely, and then re-think what happened to see how he could do things better. Eventually it was adopted by the IDF as their standard hand to hand training. Its not pretty, it doesn't rely on fancy moves, its basic natural movements. Its hard to explain without showing it, but I'd recommend checking it out f you're looking for good self defense training.

Here's a video from a while ago, before I started. Form isn't the best, but let me say I've experienced the level 2 test, which was the level 1 and 2 tests combined, that was a 3 hour test, the level 5 test is longer than that so form does start to suffer. My leg is still bruised from kicks at that was in December.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9LKUhX3qew&feature=related

I'd considered getting into to Krav for a while, but decided against it for complicated and unimportant reasons. The system seems solid, from everything I've seen, and I've been impressed with it when having friendly matches, and "talking shop" with Krav guys over the years. I tend to recommend it to people I know who don't have the time/interest in following the same sort of "lifetime" of study that I have.

I think if I had it all to do over again I would have gone into Krav and spent all the time I put into martial arts doing something more productive like taking over the world.

Krav is good

it is better to learn one thing well than many not as well

I am guilty of learning many as no one art was perfect but krav is as good as it it for combat