Sign in to follow this  
jkelly

Help for a novice.

I am pretty new to all of this but I would to start setting up a bob and then a smaller bag to keep in my vehicle at all times. I would appreciate some help from people with a little bit more experience than I have. I would like people to tell me the ten most important items for each bag since I am just starting and on a budget. I know this will be individual opinion and different for each person and I am fine with that! I am living in FL so severe cold is not really a serious concern and I live in a fairly urban area.

Thank you in advance for the suggestions and I hope this is the right board, if not I apologize.

lighter with ducktape wrapped around it, flint, flashlight, knife, 1st aid kit ,poncho,25ft para cord,space blanket,survial straw,put all that in coffee can I use for boiling water I have more in it your going to get many responses ultimately the choice well be yours for me i still add stuff to

jkelly

my outlook is a bit different, we cannot see the future a minimal BOB will not get you through.

everything can go wrong in a disaster or "PROBLEM" so it is best to be prepared for the long haul.

20 miles does not sound far I have made this distance quickly but when thousands of people

are all headed away from an event or out of town it could be a obstacle course.

prepping needs to be done with value and durability as well as use in mind if

your not bear grills your going to need more than minimalist equipment.

and some cheap stuff is worse than useless and some is OK.

weather has not been considered how many people work inside and do not carry a heavy coat?

have a car that uses water for coolant and windshield washer fluid but do not carry either?

have medical condition but no extra medication so an over night detour can have consequences.

some people need water more like children and people with diabetes and other reasons.