Sign in to follow this  
TheDefaultHuman

Body Armor?

I have never used body armor, and the cheapest quality ones are around $700 but usually higher. Taking this into consideration, would you use body armor when SHTF? Do you have any? And would you recommend it? I mean its basically a shield against the bullet that can kill you, and all though your encumbered slightly, its still protection. Is it worth it?

I'm not a huge expert, or any sort of expert, but i personnally think that a stab proof vest(if theres a difference) would be really useful when SHTF. When people start to get desperate, who knows what they would try to do to get the upper hand, so in my personnal opinion, yes it would be wise.

No, it's heavy and bulky, and carrying that kind of weight would better served carrying more supplies or camo, any steel core bullet will rip through it, heavy leather jackets are stopping 9mm, .38 and lower, but a vest for 7.62x39? Nope, majority of that cheap ammo is steel core, the money would be best served buying something else in mho.

Body armor is a smart investment. A cheap, used NIJ level II vest with a trauma plate significantly increases your chances against most handguns, some fragmentation, and an auto accident. All of those are major threats, and you can get this protection for as little as a few hundred by purchasing a police surplus vest. Other body armor solutions are going to be good choices, including new II and IIIA vests and plate carriers for rifle plates, but you need to do some threat analysis and cost/benefit considerations.

I'm working on getting a rifle plate carrier together instead of building a rig and wearing it over soft body armor. I've decided that's what will work for me, but that may change.