Sign in to follow this  
TheMcs

GHB vs BOB

I'm sure this has been touched on before, just thought I'd share my limited experience and open it up for feedback.

I'm new to most of this, somehow stumbled upon the discussion of a BOB while looking up camp sites. Thought it was a fine idea. I picked up an assault pack at the local milsurp (we have a couple really good ones here) and started with what I had on hand. Started researching survival knives and made the Gerber LMF II my first purchase. I haven't used it much yet, but it seems like a badass.

So while I'm doing all this I read about the GHB, and I gotta have one of those too. Figure I'll kill two with one and just keep the BOB in my K5. That was until I got most everything stuffed in there this weekend. These are going to have to be two different animals for me.

The only way I'll have to hoof it home is if the K5 is out of commission, otherwise there are plenty of ways for me to make it home. I'm in a suburban environment, even if the roads are gridlocked/impassable I can take alternate routes. Given that, and the fact that my house is approx a 1-2 hour hike from where I am at any given day, I'm going light on the GHB. I'll keep the assault pack for that. One of the milsurps has a couple complete ILBE packs at an incredible price, thought I'd grab one of those in a few paychecks for the BOB, to be left at home.

Right now, in the assault pack, I have;

tools

Gerber LMF II

100 ft 550 cord

100 ct 8" zip ties

3M heavy duty all weather duct tape

shelter

mylar blankets

poncho

8x10 blue tarp

navigation

Silva Polaris compass

regional & state maps (topo to come)

pad & pencil

binoculars

fire

Swedish firesteel

Coleman starter

UCO stormproof matched in case (2)

water

Katadyn Micropur MP1 tablets

several bottles of water

food

fishing tackle

beef jerky

Clif bars (but they keep disappearing for some reason)

medical

soft case 1st aid kit

nail clippers & file

carmex