Sign in to follow this  
kuzmajr

keeping a fire going in snow

OK, I admit I am new here and have been addicted for a while, my wife thinks I need to be admitted or committed somewhere. I went out in the woods this morning with a knife, cotton balls w/ vaseline, a magnesium fire starter, a small dry stick from in the shop and tried to start a fire. WOW does the cotton balls and vaseline work well, my problem is that everything is snow covered.

How do you find dry stuff to keep it going? I had the old christmas tree and broke some branches off and it took off but quickly died, I looked and looked for dry stuff. I shaved the dry stick but whatever I did it died. I used three cotton balls, then finally gave up and went for a walk.

I think if it were a real situation I would have to try harder but for now I froze, it was 14 degrees out.

I am sure you have plenty of good advice, keep it coming!

Thanks,

ed

I am also very new at this but from what I've learned so far I would

1- Dig a hole down to the grass/dirt and this is done because the snow underneath the fire will add unwanted moisture as the snow melts, and it will keep the small fire out of the wind.

2- As much as possible have enough material ie, firewood, tinder & kindling at arms reach before starting the fire (you may only get 1 shot ) so you can quickly add material in the order of tinder, kindling then the bigger wood. As far as the wet wood goes I have no idea, but trying somthing is better than nothing I guess.

Kuzmajor.Winter time,most of the water and sap in trees has gone into the root so the small limbs around you should be used to build a "log cabin".A 8 inch square.