Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
P210SIG

What’s the best EMP proof motorcycle?

6 posts in this topic

While I’ve been away from the forums here at Survivalcache for a few months.

Been searching for a EMP proof motorcycle.

Ive looked at different makes & models from 2 & 4 strokes.

All enduros or trail/dirt bikes.

Still haven’t purchased a bike yet.

Ive looked at Honda’s & Yamaha 230 cc , Husquarna 250 cc, KTM 300 cc & Honda 650 cc.

Im not a newbie into riding motorcycles & owned road bikes from the early 1970’s to the mid 80’s

Bikes that I’ve owned or riden are ( Yamaha RD 400 Daytona Special 2 stroke, RZ 350 , Kawasaki H2 750 tripple 2 stroke, Suzuki GSXR 750  & Yamaha VMax 1200 cc ).

My question is to fellow owners of dirt/ enduro bike riders / owners , what would you consider is the best EMP proof bike out there?

I’m all ears, & thanks in advance for all information given.

A tall order all I know is it either needs to be stored in a Faraday cage or have little to no electronic parts and if so you need to have spares in a EMP proof can and have a way to cut off the battery when you park it or if struck the voltage surge can burn out bulbs coil and electronics as well they need a kick start in case the electric starter goes bad.

From your post you have mechanical skills so a rebuild kit or few or a 2nd non running for spare parts not commonly available from parts stores. I think any model from the 70's  in the 250CC range as the power and torque and speed  weight ratio  would allow for the most riding flexibility in all terrain I recall the Honda Elsinore was a beast for it's availability for it size and weight I had a Yamaha and the 2 stroke pump failed and toasted the motor I would also eliminate any pump and premix fuel.