Sign in to follow this  
SinoCentric

Request for Snow hiking boot review.

Thanks in advance.

I have limited snow knowledge and one critical area where I have no real idea is in foot ware. I know the requirements: Waterproof- yet breathable. Thermally insulated. Good, deep gripping sole surfaces. Weight to me is the least critical, heavy means more energy requirements but not warm enough means far more energy required. One additional spec is easily adjustable by gloved hands.

When it comes to feet, imo good enough aint good enough, I want the best. Old back injury and poor circulation mean I can ill afford to be under prepared here.

I looked through the hiking boots thread but it's not quite specific enough, so I started up this one. What are the thoughts on others as to which brands/ types of boots are the best?

I only have experience with the Goretex hunting boots. I have a pair of Rockys that are rated to -30F and they are "too" warm for me. I use them when sitting on the ice fishing and then don't tie them so the heat can escape. They also issued the Goretex boots in the Army, but I wear the non insulated year round. I wish I could help you more.

No, I mean boots that don't make me feel like I've no toes once the temp drops. I'm not originally from a cold winter area so I find that my feet feel super chilly. Additionally, once the feet are chilled it aggravates an existing back injury and puts a brown one on my mood. I gotta get better foot ware. I normally wear some Merrel Chameleons which are great right up to about now, once the temps drop to the point of snowing that's when I start feeling the frost.