Sign in to follow this  
Amateur

Bows???

I didn't see a stringed weapon section, so I'll try it here. I apologize in advance if it's the wrong section. I'm new to bows. I've shot them once or twice before and was actually really good at it, but I know nothing about them. I actually probably won't use one often enough to justify owning one, but then again, there's always that "what if" and I've been thinking about the first 3 days of survival and not giving away my location if I need to bug out and a bow would be a little quieter than my SKS. lol. So based on that I was looking for a compound for under $100 and I bought a Martin Lynx Magnum with a hard case, a few arrows, a release, a quiver, and sights for $100. Seems to be a good bow and this one is in good condition. Are there any tips and suggestions and items I should get/try? I've noticed that you can get accessories for a bow like you can for an AR-15. lol.

I have a few concerns about your choice and purchase did you go to a bow shop to be fitted and have the bow tunned what is the draw poundage on your bow, your draw length. For $100 you could get a cheap "aquaitance bow" or an old bow first a compound bow is not a gun or grandpa's old recurve you do not just pick it up and shoot it if you do you could face disaster take it to an archery store, Cabela's or Bass Pro have them check the bow out Martin Bows have an iffy history. Second have them "fit you" and see if the bow is adaptable to you and has a draw weight exceptable for hunting. Third have them tune it, if it is safe and adaptable to fit you. do not dry fire it the string can explode and do not use wood arrows with it because the arrow can explode. I hunt with bows and competition shoot 3d and have since I was 9. after all that if you have any questions holler

Edited by warrior7r