Sign in to follow this  
juzcallmesnake

Chickens

I have been incubating and raising chickens for a while I am not a professional I have had some findings that may help others.

when I was a kid we just let the hen raise them but we have had a problem with these new group, the hens are not sitting so

using an incubator is easy I want 50 laying hens and will rotate them (in the oven) 

my incubator is set for between 100 & 101 it is a Hoba-vator and it has the egg turner you still have to turn the eggs end over end 2 times a day, it can hold 3 dozen eggs.

Chicks, pullets and laying hens are going for a decent price and selling them to others helps the feed bill.

there may be a formula to make money on animals I have yet to see it work in reality over time it does agter all the infrastructure is paid for buildings fences fans lighting etc.

The main focus on raising animals is to have them on hand and not miles away or not at all if we do have a real bird flu epidemic

in 21 days they should pop out I do on occasion help the chick if they cannot remove the cap of the shell but not all the way they need to exit on their own.

in the first day you need to inoculate for Pox the dead viri ar in a vial and you mix the other liquid and use the poker to dip and prick the inner wing / elbow not a big deal.

I extend my vaccine by breaking the pill/ plug into 4 sections and use the mixing liquid by 1/4's in a separate glass container it cost about 10 to 16 bucks and if your doing only a small group of chicks it is not economical.

I keep a 60 watt bulb in a small open globe in a section giving the chicks room enough to get away if they get to hot

they do not need water the first 24 hours but you need to use a shallow container with marbles in it to keep them from falling in and drowning and you need to stick their beek in once they feel water the sip it and then know what to do.

I do that with half or more the other will copy and figure it out.