Sign in to follow this  
coyote

Who makes a low-priced AR that will last?

I'm brand new to the AR world, so I would like to buy it intact, learn about it, and maybe build one in the future. I do not see myself upgrading this one, so I'd like to get a good one the first time. I'm looking to spend about $700 - $800. With that said, I won't be swimming any rivers with it, but I do want one that will last.

Lately, I've heard some good things about Wyndhams, but I've only talked to people who were selling them, so I'm not sure they're unbiased. :)

I also heard someone say that DPMS AR parts are slightly out of spec, so they work great as long as you don't mix parts from other manufacturer's. Does anyone know if this is true or not?

Any recommendations for or against certain models, or even just manufacturers would be appreciated!

Thanks!

I bought a Smith & Wesson from Academy sports. $699-$999. Local gun shop has same gun with all MagPul accessories for $1,100.

I have used S&W, Bushmaster, & Colt. The Colt was brand new and did not want to cycle Wolf ammo. The others did fine.

I have also seen some good deals on used guns as the market seems to be a little saturated now that the "craze" has leveled off a bit on gun purchases. I would buy a used one if you plan to customize the gun or buy a new one if you are going to leave it as is.

colt or smith & wesson

I have owned only factory original models {no copies} and have had extremely good durability and accuracy 20 years +

Never buy far out from big makers it is easy for them to go out of business and restart if they get sued or have problems

the large companies have the experience and QA no that they are immune from problems BUT joe blow does not have the

deep pockets in case there is an issue.

I recently read about a AR clone that is so horrible that it had to go out of business and now is back under another name