Sign in to follow this  
Sherrie

Just found out that I am no longer cool now that I am into Surviving LOL!

I am SUPER new to all this and have to say that learning to survive is probably one of the most fascinating subjects and skills I have ever been involved in.

Having said that.. I am quickly realizing that even the clerks selling survival stuff like Knives etc seem to

react kind of different when I explain to them that I am creating a bugout bag in case of earthquake or disaster. First off they didnt know the term bug out. Thats okay. Maybe in Canada its a different term. I will learn.

What is bothering me is the glazed over eyes or standoffishness that seems to occur when I explain my reasons for buying all the stuff I have been buying.

They go from very positive body language and good eye contact to aversion and monotone.

I work on an aircraft for a living and frankly, we are the most superficial bunch of people. Alot of judging goes on. I am dreading the discussions coming up when I am flying...

Even the sweet old guy in Home Depot got all condensending with me when I explained my reasons for all the rope and asked him for advice.

ya know what???? Those will be the same people that will look to those of us that have prepped to provide for them.

Sorry for the rant.

Feels good to have somewhere to do it

Sherrie, you are truly a part of the family now....lol. We're all the "red-headed step kids".

To help get better service, just think of the purpose you will use the items for and not generalize with survivalism. The media has done all it can to sway public perception of preppers/survivalists as "crazies and loons", so most people you come across have a negative perception of you if you mention it.