Sign in to follow this  
GotTurbo

My Sandy Survival Story

Monday the day of the storm. I headed into work. I sell insurance for a living so it was going to be a busy day due to people calling about the approcahing storm. We closed the office early due to the storm coming so every one could go home.

On my way to my fiances apartment i stoped home and filled 2 gas cans and then dropped them off at home just in case. The area by her apartment is know to flood(howard beach, NY) so I parked my car 20 blocks away and walked to it with my bug in bag in tow. Once I go there she began to cook, we wacthed the news about the storm and we had some cocktales. Figured this storm would be like any other storm we experenced at her palce.( we survived Irene with no issues at all) Well were we wrong. At 6pm the water level started to rise. Once it was about 1 ft we went out side and just watched the water rise. We headed back in to relax, in about 1 hr the tide had risen about 2 feet. The street was now flooded and the 2 cars in the street had water at the door jam. Well the water kept coming and didnt stop.

The water level reached about 7 ft. the house across from us was a 2 story and the first floor was completely gone. Now as the water rising the power would flicker but always come back on. Once it hit 7ft in the street we decided to turn off the apt breaker, but we could not turn off the landlords who was on the first floor completely submerged.