Sign in to follow this  
WV Scout

Veterans Support

Not sure if anyone has ran into this before but this is my first time. I was at a veterans club (supposed to be) but most people (including the bartender) said that the veterans have no say in this club and that the social members run everything and thats the way it should be. As a veteran I think this is awfull and I walked out; and this is a national organization. It just goes to show how everything in this country has gone down hill. If it was not for the veterans what would we have. I say a soldiers pray every night for those serving (especially 19d Scouts). I just think it's a shame how some forget. Maybe we should make a seperate thread or a forum for our veterans past and present.

Scout, what organization was this? I agree with you, but of course I am biased...lol. If the club tho is a Veterans Club, then the Vets have all the say and the social members are just guests, IMO. I wonder what their response would be if a letter to the local paper was written?

There was a military thread started in the Announcements or Articles sub forum.

Not only are veterans forgoten, and in short order i may add. But also the names of those who helped BUILD and Forge this country. Can anyone give me a single name of those who first arrived on the EAST COAST to settle there for 'The New Land"? (Yes I know Vikings and Natives were here long before any of that stuff)

My familys surname first arrived in Maryland (not yet Maryland at the time) in 1634, on board the Elizabeth out of Ipswitch, England. Among several other families. But history does not know these people. Many of the first brave souls to carve a foot-hold into the New Land. My family has been in every war this country ever fought, but my family name means nothing.

People like that Bar Tender and those who run it, who just disregard the needs and opinions of Vets, hold no place in my heart.

Unrelated to this thread but still something you guys may appreciate: