Sign in to follow this  
rachel626

finding like-minded people

sorry if this is the wrong place for this question, but i'm new here, so i can blame it on that, right? ;)

i'm pretty new to preparing and planning and unfortunately i don't have any family or friends that are really interested in creating a plan and learning different survival techniques with me.

as i believe there is strength in numbers, how do i go about finding like-minded people in my area?

Rachel, that would depend on what type of survival techniques you want to learn and what scenarios you are planning for? Since you are in school for a degree in Emergancy Management, I would look at finding a local C.E.R.T. team (Look into Washington Township FD for some help; they are very thorough and have alot to offer). You can also look at American Preppers Network (found online) and join (free). They offer seminars, classes and other related events and have local clubs you can join.

If you need any further assistance or have questions you can PM me also if not wanting it in open forum. Let me know what techniques and skills you are most interested in and I'll try and help point you in the right direction around Indy.

Greetings, Be careful about letting to much info out about yourself until, you spend sometime on this site. You can gather alot of great info just listening and reading posts. Becareful I have met alot of persons who are like fire truck chaser, police want to be.............and such...........tried to involve friends

Hi Rachel and welcome to the group. The others have warned you to go slow and be careful so I will skip past that. Nuff said... What you want to look for is simple centered people. Avoid the extremes and look for moderation. If you don't have a gun then that will need to be one of your first things to get. Not only is it a very important tool but it also can be your entry into meeting the sort of people you might need to get to know.