Sign in to follow this  
Mcrot

Apartment prepping

I am very new to prepping and live in an apartment complex. Obviously this means space is at a premium and trying to figure out what/how to store stuff is a bit overwhelming. I've started with basic canned goods, rice, beans etc in the pantry and currently working on turning my storage closet into an extended pantry. The storage closet is a floor below me so I dont plan on storing anything I would need quick but I have to use all the space I can. I live next to a fresh water river and pond so I've just focused on water purification as opposed to water storage. That being said I do have about 15 gallons stored in the apartment (5 in plastic dispensers in the fridge and 2 5 gallon Gatorade coolers in a closet) with my limited shelf closet space what should my primary focus be?

Sounds like your head is in the right place; evaluating your situation and starting with basics.

Just how Urban is your area? Or is it like a developed rural area? As for suggestions.. really sounds like ur well on your way. Water is obvious, but it doesnt have to be in the fridg to be stored. Get some water tablets and stick the water in the closet so you can actually use that fridg space. Living in close proximity to a River is good, but consider many people will be leeching that same spot.. If you plan to 'Bug-In', then id suggest next looking into a propane Camp stove. Get yourself a GOOD portable water filter/purifier, more than just an Emergency Straw. ANd something to Defend yourself with. Hammer/nails/OSB board/2x4s/Roll plastic/duct tape

Bet ya my apartment is smaller :P but im a Bug-out guy.

Edited by NavyVet_77