Sign in to follow this  
Latakia

Need Help Selecting Blades

Hello,

I need some help selecting the optimal blades to compliment the fixed-blade knife I currently have. I intend to use these blades in a wilderness survival setting (various North American biomes) and I am new to wilderness survival in general.

I currently have the Ontario Blackbird SK-5, which is a straight-edged spear-point knife. I am looking to get a smaller folding knife that has a serrated blade (or partially serrated blade) and maybe some other features that the SK-5 lacks. I also want to get a machete or hatchet, but not both, and I really don't know too much about wilderness survival to know which would be the better overall choice or if there is an in-between solution.

What would you suggest?

Thanks in advance.

For pocket knives I like CRKT and Benchmade, there are about a bazillion and a half folding knives on the market, so I'd suggest going with a reputable maker and just picking one that fits your hand and pocket comfortably. As for a heavy working blade be it an axe or machete.... I'd recommend a pack axe over a hatchet if you go that direction, it's only slightly larger and heavier but can do about 10x the work. As for machetes, get one that was actually designed to be used in a hardwood setting, paper thin latin style machetes don't work too well for serious work in North America. I'm a fan of Condor Tools machetes, http://www.condortk.com/products.php?type=9 The village Parang and Golok are both blades by this maker I've used, I own the Golok, you'd be hard pressed to find an edged tool that can do as much as either of these in such a small package. I recommend carbon steel over stainless, heavy working blades take a lot of abuse and impact when set to task and outside of a few hot-rod stainless grades they aren't really mixed to take that sort of sustained punishment.