Sign in to follow this  
awake

Kershaw Whiplash 4355 review

post-1355-13851497883703_thumb.jpg.jpg]I don’t know about you but if I find a place that has a knife I can’t walk away without handling it. I could and have spent hours in a good knife store. I don’t feel as if I am an expert in knifes but I know what I like especially if it’s in my hand. Kershaw is a name in knifes that I have grown to love. I own several of their knives.

Today I had the chance to take the Kershaw Whiplash to task. I decided on a nice hike to try it out. I started with a downed log about two feet in diameter. I drove the Kershaw into the log and was able to bury half of the 4.5 inch blade into the wood. Looking around I found a good BFR (big fine rock) and pounded the rest of the blade into the log. So far so good. Knife was still intact. I started to work the knife back and forth and side to side. After about three minutes I had the four foot log into two pieces. Next I spent several minutes chopping at the one piece to get a good feel for how the blade cut and how the handle felt. The blade remained very sharp. The handle never slipped in my hand. Given the humidity and sweat this was outstanding in my opinion. I cut several vines as well. After returning to my truck I found some notebook paper and was able to produce some nice clean cuts the whole length of the page.

This knife is about nine inches long with a 4.5 inch blade. Full tang. It has a built in para cord lanyard that wraps around you wrist. The large index finger notch, thumb notches on the back and textured nylon handle make for a secure grip. Comes with a nice sheath with thumb break security strap. The more a work with this knife the more I love it. If I were ever in a bad situation, I would not even have a second thought about this nice knife’s ability to perform.

I would give this knife a 9.6 out of 10. If it had a kydex sheath it would be a 10.

Edited by awake