Sign in to follow this  
Ssgt_DimeBag

Home made wind generator

Guest kevin

liked the video but when i looked at the site he talked about they didn't have the replacement parts for the alterator. without those no point in building one...you can buy one already assembled for the same price that they want for one of their low speed generator.

liked the video but when i looked at the site he talked about they didn't have the replacement parts for the alterator. without those no point in building one...you can buy one already assembled for the same price that they want for one of their low speed generator.

Yea I think you can make just about any car or truck gen. work.I just used this video to give out an idea.

But then again I'm no engineer.

I was aking a mechanic about this at work he said generator and alternator are not the same thing.

Your right generator is what we were using when we were still using the point system in cars an trucks.Alternator are what we use know and have there own regulator in them.

My dad has a old well pump windmill that he has been saving for years in pieces on pallets we have talked about toying with it to see about spinning a few old generators that he has laying around, as he also has the regulators from them in therory alternators are better as they have longer lifespan as I understand

Wind power can also be used to compress air. If you add a air motor there are lots of things possible.

Check out Spring River Machine, 3490 L.C. 2110, Stotts City, MO. 65756 ( ph 417 285-3164 ) they build one refered to as Air Miser...the article suggests that it is efficient and easy to rebuild.

Edited by Partsman

A combination of home solar panels-wind turbines can produce much of the power required by the average home. Small wind powered turbines are manufactured by a number of companies and can be readily set up either through guyed tower or free standing tower. The recommended tower height is about 12 feet, power is about 500watt-10Kwatt.