Sign in to follow this  
Vicioustom

Spear Heads

I have a little experience with spears, not a lot, but some. I've used them for food gathering, and learned a bit about them in passing when I was affiliated with ARMA years ago. I've been rolling the idea of picking up a spear head for a few years now, I can make the shaft myself.

Aside from Cold Steel does anyone know who makes a good spear head? Or is it largely the province of private craftsmen these days?

Guest kevin

i made a couple for my bob. i used the teeth from a combine. ground them into shape. i wonder if simply buying a cheap boot knife and taking the handle off wouldn't work just as well.

There are lots of ways to get scrape metal for many different types of spear heads. I don't really have a reccomendation for a company for you but I would think you could find some decent ones in a fishing section at a outdoors store.

Thanks for your imput guys. I checked that site Snake, they had a few options that intrigued me on there, I'll have to dig a bit deeper to figure out how the quality is on those heads.

As for the fishing spears I have a frog spear in my man cave somewhere, but I'm looking for something more along the lines of a boar spear I think. I may have to try my hand at making something, still pondering the whole idea.

Give the Cold Steel Bushman a look. There are two of them and for the money they are about the best all around survival tools I've seen. The plain Bushman is a good knife shape and the Bowie Bushman is actually a little better for use as a spear. I have both and love them both. They ar tough as nails and with just a little work are shaving sharp.

I consider a sharp edged spear to be a must for any BOB. My reasoning goes like this... One of the best ways to improve your odds is to think preventative in terms of injury instead of focusing on repair and treat after the fact. A spear works by keeping the action out well past arms length.